TALK ABOUT: 15kg Weight Loss (33 pounds!)

7 Mar

Hey guys!

So this is a little out of the ordinary from my posts on favourites and hauls.

I did mention in my new year post that I was going to talk about my weight loss. And it’s taken me 2 months to get around to it, but hurrah! it’s here 🙂

Once Upon A Time…

Ok so lets get some background on this story. There’s a reason why I’m not a Youtube vlogger but a blogger. I’m quite a big girl and unfortunately I’m not that comfortable in my own skin.
I’ve always been big – prior to this drop in weight last year, I was a whopping 90kg!
That definitely deserves a code red.

Me! Prior to Weight Loss. At 90kgs (198 pounds)

Me! Prior to Weight Loss. At 90kgs (198 pounds).

Diets have come and gone and most have failed. A few years ago I did go on a no-carb diet, which worked whilst it lasted.
I lost 2 dress sizes and was looking great without even breaking a sweat, but the moment I started bringing back anything with carbs, it all came rushing back to my thighs.

I really don’t recommend this diet by the way. Though it really worked, it wasn’t very healthy.
I was cutting out all carb related foods and anything with sugar in it – even fruits! I didn’t do any exercise and that meant not toning up where fat used to be.

The moment I got off this diet, the weight started to creep back onto my body and made me heavier than when I started! Not the best feeling…

And this is how it happened.

My most recent weight loss journey actually started off as a challenge. Around March 2012, couple of friends brought up the idea that we should all stop eating fast foods for the rest of the year. Any offender would pop $5 into the piggy which would then be smashed on New Years Eve and put towards a nice big fat celebratory meal.

And as you’d expect, a few people started cheating… a few people started dropping out… quite a few excuses were made…

And the challenge was over.

So I’m not sure what happened in my case, but I must’ve started getting used to the lack of all these bad foods. I had simply cut out any fast foods (e.g. McDonalds/Maccas, KFC etc) plus any sweets.
I just continued on with the challenge even though the rest of my friends had given up, and found myself 3kgs lighter after a couple of months.

That’s when my motivation kicked in.

Those 3kgs were so easy to lose. I didn’t feel the loss of keeping bad foods at bay, so I wanted to challenge myself to do more. To EXERCISE.

Now let me stress the extremity of this situation. I have never really exercised in my life.
I took out a gym membership when I was in high school around the age of 15. But after a couple of months the membership was reduced to a nice addition to my wallet.

But starting slow, I decided to try jogs around the block. This then progress to random visits to the gym and eventually became a fully fledged membership.

Exercise Progression: How I worked out how to work out

When I first joined the gym, I avoided the treadmill like a plague.

I could not run to save my life and that was definitely the last thing I was going to try to master.
I stepped on it once to see how far I could go, but after walking at a normal pace for about 5 minutes and losing half my water weight in sweat, I finally realised how unfit I was.

I started just cross training at about 6km/hr and keeping my heart rate within the “fat burn” range. And slowly stepped it up as I began to feel more comfortable with the routine.
Once in awhile I would change it up and incorporate weights for different parts of the body to tone. And I’ll join some classes like yoga, pilates and Zumba that would help my core whilst keeping it fun and entertaining.

I think one of the biggest problems I had was commitment – as like everyone else.
I eventually realised that if I went to the gym straight after work, there’d be no time to think and let laziness take over.

I would be at work, would be at home, would be changed and out the door.

Now after a year of training, I went from not being able to walk for 5 minutes to doing 6km a day.
I do 1.5 minute intervals of walking and jogging for 45 minutes each session and push myself to improve this endurance.

Though my physique is far from anything you would categorise as normal, I’ve shed 15kgs (33 pounds) and aim for at least another 12 (26 pounds).
Fingers crossed I’ll be able to achieve it!

And this is where I am…

So after a doctoral recommendation of taking break from weight loss to reduce the “stress” my body was experiencing, I’m back at the gym doing intense sessions to get myself to a normal weight range.

I started off sitting around the 90 kg mark (approx 198 pounds) which was well and truly classified as obesity.
I’m now fluttering around 75 kg (approx 165 pounds) which is considered overweight, and need another 12 before I fall under a normal BMI.

Apologies for the photo of me… this was all I could find! I was at the Ozsale warehouse sale I blogged about and there was no mirror. So my friend and I had to take photos of each other to see how each piece looked!

Me! After 15kg Weight Loss. At 75kg (165 pounds).

Me! After 15kg Weight Loss. At 75kg (165 pounds).

If you have any tips or tricks or any snacks that can be suggested to make this an easier process, please feel free to drop a comment below!
It would be great to have some support on this journey.

I’ll keep you guys updated with my progress. It won’t be too frequent because I’m aiming to have a healthy (and slow) weight loss journey, but you’ll hear more from me 🙂

For now though….

Lovelove!

Rean

30 Responses to “TALK ABOUT: 15kg Weight Loss (33 pounds!)”

  1. Nannie April 26, 2013 at 9:04 am #

    I go to see day-to-day some blogs and information sites to read articles or
    reviews, except this web site offers quality based posts.

  2. Gabriel April 27, 2013 at 6:21 am #

    Thanks for sharing such a nice thinking, post is nice, thats
    why i have read it entirely

  3. Randall April 28, 2013 at 2:40 pm #

    I do not even know how I ended up here, but I thought this post
    was good. I don’t know who you are but definitely you are going to a famous blogger if you are not already 😉 Cheers!

  4. Ruben April 29, 2013 at 5:30 pm #

    You should take part in a contest for one
    of the highest quality blogs on the net. I most certainly
    will highly recommend this website!

    • reanspeaks April 29, 2013 at 5:37 pm #

      Thanks Ruben. That means a whole lot to me 🙂

  5. Armando Neuner April 30, 2013 at 9:36 am #

    I simply want to say I’m beginner to blogs and truly loved this blog site. Almost certainly I’m want to bookmark your blog . You amazingly come with awesome stories. Many thanks for sharing with us your webpage.

  6. Dominic May 3, 2013 at 7:00 am #

    A person essentially lend a hand to make critically posts I might state.
    That is the very first time I frequented your website page
    and to this point? I amazed with the analysis you made to create this particular submit
    incredible. Fantastic activity!

  7. Okna May 5, 2013 at 7:55 am #

    Hi-Ya! We basically love your current gorgeous write-up thanx and please retain it on

  8. Henry Cassi May 5, 2013 at 3:04 pm #

    Hello There. I found your blog using msn. This is a really well written article. I’ll make sure to bookmark it and come back to read more of your useful info. Thanks for the post. I’ll definitely comeback.

  9. Bert Dargatz May 6, 2013 at 5:07 am #

    I gotta bookmark this website it seems very beneficial extremely helpful

  10. Dwight Schramel May 6, 2013 at 11:29 am #

    Hello my loved one! I wish to say that this post is awesome, great written and come with almost all important infos. I’d like to see more posts like this.

  11. Paulina May 6, 2013 at 8:04 pm #

    I am no longer sure the place you are getting your information, but great topic.
    I must spend some time studying much more or understanding more.
    Thanks for great information I was searching for this information for
    my mission.

  12. Johnette Hoenig May 6, 2013 at 9:51 pm #

    I’ll immediately clutch your rss feed as I can’t in finding your e-mail subscription hyperlink or newsletter service. Do you have any? Please permit me understand so that I may subscribe. Thanks.

  13. organic potting soil May 7, 2013 at 8:13 am #

    Hi! I simply would like to give you a big thumbs up for your excellent
    info you have right here on this post. I am
    coming back to your website for more soon.

  14. Carter Gregg May 7, 2013 at 9:16 am #

    I believe you have noted some very interesting points , thankyou for the post.

  15. Mendy Keilen May 7, 2013 at 12:40 pm #

    It is in point of fact a nice and helpful piece of info. I¡¦m happy that you shared this useful info with us. Please keep us up to date like this. Thanks for sharing.

  16. Leszczyński May 7, 2013 at 11:45 pm #

    You made some decent points there. I looked on the internet for the subject and found most individuals will consent with your blog.

  17. Brant Grenfell May 8, 2013 at 4:41 am #

    I simply want to mention I’m beginner to blogging and site-building and truly loved this page. Most likely I’m likely to bookmark your website . You surely come with awesome stories. Many thanks for revealing your website page.

  18. Helena May 8, 2013 at 6:18 pm #

    Very good information. Lucky me I came across
    your site by chance (stumbleupon). I’ve bookmarked it for later!

  19. Maja May 9, 2013 at 6:23 am #

    Hello There. I found your blog using msn. This is a really well written article. I’ll be sure to bookmark it and return to read more of your useful info. Thanks for the post. I will certainly comeback.

  20. Elwood May 11, 2013 at 7:49 pm #

    This blog was… how do I say it? Relevant!! Finally I have found something which helped me.
    Appreciate it!

  21. Presutti May 12, 2013 at 2:06 am #

    Good post. I will be facing many of these issues as well..

  22. michelle May 13, 2013 at 9:25 pm #

    GOOOO CATTY!

  23. Tlaki September 10, 2013 at 11:10 pm #

    Hey I’m Tk from SA and I have been trying to lose weight for years,and it seems like today its my blessed day, and looks like I’m going through the same challenge as you have,and I really need your help!!!

    • reanspeaks September 11, 2013 at 3:37 pm #

      Hey Tk, thanks for commenting!
      I know it’s hard but all you need is a little bit of determination and a goal 🙂
      Try it with a friend – some friendly competition won’t hurt.
      Make sure you think “sustainable” though, as detoxs and fad diets won’t keep you slim once it’s over.

  24. diet66 slim xtreme gold July 31, 2014 at 2:34 pm #

    Thanks for finally writing about >TALK ABOUT: 15kg Weight Loss (33 pounds!) | reanspeaks <Liked it!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Your Questions About 22.5 Bmi | Healthy Silicone Valley - March 20, 2013

    […] Stepping Stones For SuccessThe Link Between Weight and Having KidsTALK ABOUT: 15kg Weight Loss (33 pounds!) […]

  2. dertgusdert - May 7, 2013

    Blogs ou should be reading…

    […]Here is a Great Blog You Might Find Interesting that we Encourage You[…]……

  3. gurtredlop - May 9, 2013

    Great website…

    […]we like to honor many other internet sites on the web, even if they aren’t linked to us, by linking to them. Under are some webpages worth checking out[…]……

Leave a Reply

