REVIEW: Foundation/Concealer Update

21 Jan

Time for another review!

I’ve been recently buying a couple of new complexion related products – foundations, BB creams and concealers. There’s a couple that have struck me with either strong positive or negative thoughts. So please see below for an update on what I’ve found!

Revlon Colorstay: Fresh Beige

Revlon Colorstay: Fresh Beige

After hearing plenty of good reviews and raves about the Revlon Colorstay foundation, I decided to pick up a bottle at my local Target whilst it was on sale.

Though I bought the wrong colour – Fresh Beige is too light for my current tanned complexion, after using it for a long day it definitely did what it was made for! After a 19 hours, my foundation was still sitting strong on my face. I had blotted my face a couple of times and still there was no disturbance to the look and consistency of the formula. And considering it was a record breaking 45 degree heat in Sydney (that’s 113 Fahrenheit!), it didn’t budge at all!

The only problem I found was the lack of oil control. I have very oily skin especially around the T-Zone, and this foundation didn’t help to reduce that at all. I’ve yet to find a foundation that does control oil any better than my current products, so please do drop a suggestion if you know of one.
But nevertheless, Revlon Colorstay did exceed expectations with it’s staying power!

Another thing I noticed was the consistency. It’s quite a fluid liquid foundation rather than having a thicker formula, which was great to apply to the face. I find that when using a thicker formula with a stippling brush, the time it takes to blend in the foundation and make it flawless increases dramatically to the point of annoyance!

Revlon Colorstay was definitely fluid enough to make the application process very easy.

This foundation beats the current one I have been hanging onto – The Body Shop, Oil Free foundation.

The Body Shop: Oil Free Balancing Foundation in #2.

The Body Shop: Oil Free Balancing Foundation in #2.

Apologies for the messiness of the bottle in the image. This tube has been with me for awhile.

This foundation not only comes in a very thick formula, it settles into the lines of your skin throughout the day and does NOT help with oil control at all. Coverage isn’t bad and I would describe it as medium to full – same as the Revlon Colorstay foundation above. But it’s definitely a far cry from the results received from Revlon, considering the dear price.

I would not recommend this foundation at all unless you’d like to go for something that doesn’t work too well… but then you’ll be able to find plenty of those with a much lighter price tag.

Maybelline New York: Instant Age Rewind Eraser Dark Circles Treatment Concealer

Maybelline New York: Instant Age Rewind Eraser Dark Circles Treatment Concealer

Another complexion product I’ve recently picked up is the Maybelline New York: Instant Age Rewind Eraser Dark Circles Treatment Concealer. WOW. That was a mouthful.

I’ve heard SO MUCH about this concealer from Youtubers and through the great vine, so I had to try it when there was a sale at Priceline.

With sky high expectations, I sponged this product all along my dark eye circles hoping to find a miracle in a bottle. But what I experienced was an enhancement of my flaws!
My fine lines were much more obvious and my circles weren’t lighter at all. In fact the product made my lower eye area very cakey, causing more attention to be drawn than before!

I’m not sure why so many people love it – if there’s a specific way to use the product please let me know. It might be a case of a confused consumer. But by using it the only way I can figure out how, I don’t find good results at all.

It’s actually made it onto my “never ever ever getting back together” list – and I’m sure Taylor Swift will agree with me on this one!

I don’t know – try it if you guys want. It’s not very expensive so you won’t be losing out on much. But I definitely didn’t have a good experience with it. So I suggest giving this a go last if you can’t find anything else you’d like to test first.

Well that’s it for my complexion products update. I have purchased a few other things that fall into this category, but none of them have been notable enough to spend time writing a review on. Either that or I haven’t gotten around to trying it yet.

I will post any updates if any of the above opinions change.

And if you have any suggestions on oil controlling foundations or any comments about the products and reviews above, please drop in a line below and let me know you thoughts!

For now though…

Lovelove!

Rean.

21 Responses to “REVIEW: Foundation/Concealer Update”

  1. Marcelle Arno April 30, 2013 at 7:25 am #

    I just want to mention I am newbie to blogging and certainly savored you’re website. Probably I’m want to bookmark your blog post . You definitely come with amazing well written articles. Thank you for revealing your website.

  2. raypharma May 5, 2013 at 6:38 am #

    Hrmm that was weird, my comment bought eaten. Anyway I needed to say that it is good to know that someone else also talked about this as I had trouble finding the identical data elsewhere. This was the first place that informed me the answer. Thanks.

  3. Salvatore Mellis May 5, 2013 at 10:02 pm #

    Thank you a bunch for sharing this with all of us you actually realize what you’re talking approximately! Bookmarked. Please additionally seek advice from my site =). We may have a link trade arrangement among us!

  4. Marcelina May 6, 2013 at 12:20 pm #

    Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wished to say that I’ve truly enjoyed browsing your blog posts. In any case I’ll be subscribing to your rss feed and I hope you write again very soon!

  5. Pat Fequiere May 6, 2013 at 9:01 pm #

    Good write-up, I am regular visitor of one’s web site, maintain up the excellent operate, and It is going to be a regular visitor for a long time.

  6. Dennis Adema May 7, 2013 at 4:54 am #

    I went over this web site and I think you have a lot of wonderful info, bookmarked (:.

  7. Versie Sedotal May 7, 2013 at 1:16 pm #

    Hiya very nice site!! Guy .. Excellent .. Superb .. I will bookmark your site and take the feeds also…I am happy to seek out so many helpful information here within the put up, we need develop more techniques in this regard, thanks for sharing.

  8. Octavio Bales May 7, 2013 at 2:22 pm #

    Hello my loved one! I want to say that this post is awesome, great written and come with approximately all significant infos. I would like to look extra posts like this.

  9. Wendi Ulysse May 7, 2013 at 3:52 pm #

    I have been absent for a while, but now I remember why I used to love this blog. Thank you, I will try and check back more frequently. How frequently you update your website?

  10. Genevieve Bruyn May 8, 2013 at 3:56 am #

    I just want to tell you that I am just new to blogging and really savored you’re blog. Very likely I’m likely to bookmark your blog . You really have incredible posts. Thank you for sharing with us your blog site.

  11. A person May 8, 2013 at 11:19 pm #

    Hi and thank you for this article! your blog is really interesting .. I myself am a young blogger and I confess that I am inspired by you! + + Julie

  12. Archie Silsby May 13, 2013 at 3:58 am #

    really fantastic post, i unquestionably adore this web page, persist in it

  13. Emilia May 14, 2013 at 8:26 am #

    Good day! I simply want to give an enormous thumbs up for the good info you will have right here on this post. I might be coming back to your blog for more soon.

  14. elektryk sigmabud May 14, 2013 at 11:14 am #

    this site is my inspiration , rattling great style and perfect subject material .

  15. Alisha Baine May 16, 2013 at 10:48 am #

    Main thankies for the post.

  16. anim assur May 18, 2013 at 7:02 am #

    Pretty nice post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wanted to say that I’ve truly enjoyed surfing around your blog posts. In any case I’ll be subscribing to your feed and I hope you write again very soon!

  17. sammystevens68 June 13, 2013 at 2:01 am #

    Really good post! My impressions of Colorstay were almost the same, it has an incredible staying power but it doesn’t do good enough job when it comes to oil control 😦 I rate ps beauty foundation finder it’s really good for giving shade recommendations based on what other foundations and in what colours you have tried. That’s how I discovered my current holy grail foundation nars sheer matte:)

    • reanspeaks June 14, 2013 at 3:15 pm #

      Tried this out and it’s amazing! It sure has a huge database of foundations!
      I will definitely recommend this to other people – thanks for the tip!

  18. loja amplificadores valvulados July 12, 2013 at 9:01 am #

    Definitely, what a great blog and educative posts, I surely will bookmark your website.Have an awsome day!

  19. Vivexin Review September 13, 2013 at 3:11 pm #

    Thanks for finally writing about >REVIEW: Foundation/Concealer Update | reanspeaks <Loved it!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. gurtredlop - May 9, 2013

    Recommeneded websites…

    […]Here are some of the sites we recommend for our visitors[…]……

Leave a Reply

