Talk About: Skin Care Routine

3 Nov

Hi all,

I wanted to share with you my current skin care routine to both show how I’m tackling my troubled skin and also see whether any of you have suggestions for me to improve on.
Because that’s what it’s all about isn’t it? Sharing is caring! 😄

To say the least my skin is oily. And this isn’t the subtle sheen at 3pm on a hot day – this is the real deal.
Not only is my skin ridiculously oily, I’ve also been battling with excessive acne for over 7 years. It has only been recently that I’ve found the products that work best for my skin.

Here’s a little history: I’ve always had troubles with acne and the constant wash of oil on my face. It was using the Tea Tree Oil range from The Body Shop for quite a while but noticed that even though I’d only break out occasionally, I was still sporting oil and sebum deposits under the surface of my skin, making it bumpy.

It was then that I went to a Dermologica workshop that made me feel as though all hope was not lost! I paid about $200AUD for a whole range or products but when I started using it, my acne became completely uncontrollable!

For a system that apparently maps out your face into 12 regions to provide the best solution and is apparently “engineered by dedicated dermatologists”, its caused the worst my skin has ever experienced.

I’ll not go into too much detail in case I bring your Halloween visions to life. But essentially my face was left with large amounts of scarring and acne like I’ve never experienced.

I then started my journey of recovery with the following skin care brands, all using the acne skin care systems.
First Mary Kay, then Proactiv, and now finally Clinique Anti-Blemish Solutions.

This could be the reason why I’m so faithful to Clinique. Because it was the skin care system that brought me from acne to clear skin. I now only ever find blemishes if I’m going through stress, or am about to enter my menstrual cycle – and these breakouts are very minimal might I add.

So now for what I was originally going to talk about… My Skin Care Routine:

In the mornings I use:
1. Clinique Anti-Blemish Solutions Cleansing Foam
2. Clinique Anti-Blemish Solutions Clarifying Lotion
3. Lancôme Genifique Yeux Youth Activating Eye Concentrate
4. Clinique Dramatically Different Moisturising Gel

At night I have a very similar routine, except I just add on some Clinique Pore Minimizer to work whilst I sleep.

For any blemishes, I’m currently using Clinique Anti-Blemish Solutions Spot Treatment Gel.

I must say again, this Anti-Blemish routine has worked wonders for me. It has been the only product that has allowed me to step away from my house without make up. I am now confident about my naked face and use much less foundation than than I used to.

Concealer? I forget about that now.

I’m keen to try different eye creams for prevention and dark circles. I haven’t used the Lancôme Eye Concentrate for too long yet so I’m not sure whether it works well for me. And I’m also happy to try different spot treatments as i find the Clinique Spot Gel isn’t as effective as other brands I’ve tried previously.

Besides that all I need now is to work a little on the dark spots left behind from my acne history. I will be trying the Clinique Even Better Dark Spots Corrector. Hopefully that’ll show some results!

If you have any other suggestions on how I can rectify extremely oily skin or my dark acne scars, then please comment below!

But for now…

Love love, Rean.

18 Responses to “Talk About: Skin Care Routine”

  1. Miranda Garrettson April 30, 2013 at 6:51 am #

    I just want to mention I am beginner to blogging and certainly loved you’re web blog. Probably I’m want to bookmark your blog . You certainly come with tremendous articles and reviews. Thanks a lot for revealing your web-site.

  2. raypharma May 5, 2013 at 8:34 am #

    I must admit that that is one nice insight. It certainly offers an organization the chance to get in on the ground floor and really participate in creating one thing special and tailored to their needs.

  3. Czeslaw May 5, 2013 at 9:14 pm #

    Some genuinely nice and useful information on this website, as well I believe the style holds excellent features.

  4. Kirby Dermer May 6, 2013 at 4:48 am #

    I like the valuable information you provide in your articles. I’ll bookmark your weblog and check again here frequently. I am quite certain I will learn a lot of new stuff right here! Good luck for the next!

  5. wpis May 6, 2013 at 6:16 am #

    Everything is vastly untie with a clear reason of the issues. It was really informative. Your website is fantastically useful. Be grateful you for sharing!

  6. Parker Sodervick May 6, 2013 at 8:42 am #

    hello!,I love your writing so a lot! share we keep in touch more approximately your article on AOL? I need an expert on this space to solve my problem. May be that is you! Having a look forward to see you.

  7. Okna May 6, 2013 at 10:48 am #

    Hi There! We just love your terrific write-up thank you and please follow it

  8. Madalyn Losiewski May 6, 2013 at 11:06 am #

    F*ckin’ remarkable things here. I am very glad to look your post. Thanks so much and i am looking forward to contact you. Will you kindly drop me a mail?

  9. Trent Tensley May 6, 2013 at 2:10 pm #

    you’re really a excellent webmaster. The website loading pace is incredible. It kind of feels that you’re doing any unique trick. Furthermore, The contents are masterwork. you have done a magnificent activity on this topic!

  10. Adella Nedbalek May 6, 2013 at 3:48 pm #

    I have recently started a blog, the information you provide on this site has helped me tremendously. Thanks for all of your time & work.

  11. Darrin Stitzel May 7, 2013 at 4:43 am #

    I was studying some of your posts on this site and I think this site is really instructive! Keep putting up.

  12. kumas May 9, 2013 at 11:25 pm #

    *you possess a fantastic blog right here! would you prefer to make some invite posts on my weblog?

    • reanspeaks May 10, 2013 at 12:48 am #

      Hi Kumas,

      Yes I’d definitely love to feature in your blog if topics are relevant.
      Please email me at reanspeaks@gmail.com if you would like to proceed.

      Thanks.

  13. Maynard Goudie May 12, 2013 at 8:24 pm #

    Hello! I just would prefer to give a huge thumbs up for the exceptional details you’ve got here on this post. I’ll be coming back to your weblog for much more soon.

  14. Alberta Buechele May 18, 2013 at 7:53 am #

    very nice submit, i certainly love this web site, carry on it

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. REVIEW: Aveeno Positively Radiant Daily Moisturiser SPF15 | reanspeaks - April 24, 2013

    […] consistency is thick and creamy – obviously much heavier than the Clinique Moisturising Gel that I used beforehand. But this in turn provided hydration, which is what my skin lacked after I […]

  2. dertgusdert - May 7, 2013

    Websites you should visit…

    […]below you’ll find the link to some sites that we think you should visit[…]……

  3. gurtredlop - May 9, 2013

    Awesome website…

    […]the time to read or visit the content or sites we have linked to below the[…]……

Leave a Reply

